The RWI framework captures welfare in four main categories, the Foundations of welfare:

Just Societies

The Just Societies foundation captures the interrelational structures that exist between individuals in a society with formal and informal institutions in the quest of an inclusive, fair, just and collective social growth. This foundation consists of five pillars:

Formal Institutions

Human Rights

Informal Institutions

Religions and

Social Capital.

Secured Livelihoods

The Secured Livelihoods foundation captures the levels, distribution and diffusion of the necessary means for human and societal flourishing. This foundation consists of six pillars:







Sustainable Open Economies

The Sustainable Open Economies foundation captures the interrelational economic structures at the individual and aggregate level, looking both at the supply and demand perspectives. This foundation aims to understand and measure the extent to which an economy both at the micro and macro level is competitive, open to innovation, conducive to investments and trade and facilitates inclusive growth. It consists of five pillars



Business Environment

Investment Environment


Nature and Green Future

The Nature and Green Future foundation captures the natural capital stock and green initiatives of each country. This foundation consists of five pillars:




Sustainable Productions

Green Transformation.

Together, these foundations comprise of 21 weighted pillars. It is important to note that the pillars within each domain do not only associate with other pillars in the domain, but interrelate with pillars across the other foundations, and each pillar should therefore be understood in the wider context of the Index. For example, the Poverty pillar looks at the set of basic material conditions present in everyday life that provide the platform for members of society to attain wellbeing.